A Birth

On October 1, 2011 “Out of The Woods” arrived on my doorstep, in a UPS rush delivery, after publishing snafus and shipping drama. It was a mere three hours before  the books’ launch party and Lyme disease fundraiser. Excitement ran high. Autumn leaves in aubergine hues, delicious platters of lovingly prepared food, Judy Blake’s lush songstress voice filled the renovated old mill building, as 150 of us toasted the birth of my book and the accomplishment of my ten year healing journey from chronic Lyme.

I must say I felt like Cinderella at the royal ball, an ‘up from the ashes’ moment for me, to be surrounded by such glory and enchantment, in counterpoint to the crippling isolation and invalid status I lay dormant in during the grueling years of protracted illness. With friends and family, fellow Lymies and well-wishers in attendance, I witnessed true support for a new beginning. Beautiful words and stacks of “Out of The Woods” ribboned in grosgrain bows cemented the reality for me- I did it! I healed, I wrote a book of compassionate truths and now I birthed the baby!! WOW! Could I fly any higher than this miraculous night?

Well guess what? I am, and I am in awe!

The last two months have been chock full. Every week I have been about in the world sharing this special book and my message of hope and healing. Lyme lectures, book signings, radio shows, workshops, traveling hither and yon. Seven states fourteen venues- it has been a whirlwind!

I am meeting the most amazing people! Fellow Lymies, their caretakers, shopkeepers, concerned and curious folks, on walkers, in wheelchairs, grey in pallor, and in deep need of repair. So many of you dear people have come to greet me. Having walked through the hellish catacombs of Lyme disease myself, I osmotically sense the feeling and struggles so many of you are facing. I know how hard it is. You must hold on! Your life is too precious to give up on.

I wrote this book for all of you. I went out on a limb, some might say, to expose my own vulnerability and the rawness of the suffering so many of us experience in the dark cavern of this decimating illness. I took that courageous step though, because I could not bear the suffering to continue in such buried status any longer. My voice is one of thousands, it is not unique, I merely have spoke more loudly for us all. It is time we are heard.

Flying higher now than I ever dreamed was possible, I of course feel my mighty eagle ally. 🙂 Riding home from Hanover, NH on a Saturday night after a booksigning, alone on the dark NH highway, Orion’s belt twinkled through the windshield, guiding stars truly, on my journey homeward and metaphorically in this passage of sharing “Out of The Woods”. I felt a palpable knowing suddenly on the isolated highway- that I am on the right path and guided on this wondrous journey! Destiny is in my hand!

Journeys are so important in life. Journeys to taste foreign cultures, journeys to reunite with old friends and journeys inward to our soul’s center all have special meaning. I embrace this new journey now, of sharing “Out of The Woods”, its story and healing message, with all of you. My wish is that you too can embrace your own healing journey and may feel comfortable to share some pieces of it here with us on the blog. Expressing from the heart is part of the healing. Take some time to close your eyes, breathe slowly, lay your hand over your heart. Sense what lies within that heartspace. Take a pen, write it down. Release the energy onto the page. Do this regularly, tapping into your heart. Feel free to share some discoveries with us.

Katina

3 thoughts on “A Birth

  1. I do declare, Katina, it is now, in this moment, after reading this message, that the holiday spirit has come upon me. Congratulations! This is so uplifting, truly. You have worked so hard. All joy and success to you, and complete healing to all those for whom you wrote the book. xo Laurie

    1. Isn’t it something when we actually do feel the presence of Spirit…..christmas or divine or angelic? The feeling of a gentle presence or clarity wafts over me.

  2. Kim, what a gift you and your work are to ALL of us.
    You as a person, you through your fabulous book, and
    now through this generous sharing of yourself again,
    while inviting us to do the same. Bravo !!

Leave a Reply

