Rhode Island, You Rock!

As you followers have found, my summer has been chock full of Lyme disease talks, healing workshops, book events and media.  Somehow, I’ve managed to keep up with an athletic 15 year old son and seeing clients, though limitedly.

I have to say the summer finale on the book tour in Rhode Island was truly spectacular!! What an outpouring of attention, gatherings and momentum I experienced.  I am completely impressed with the active Lyme support groups in the region, as well alert concern by people in important roles.  Lyme literate practitioners exist in our tiny “ocean state.”  Let me share some of the trip.

I’ve harbored a fondness for Rhode Island’s soft sandy beaches and warm ocean waters over the past decades, as most of New England has icy, cold water, too brisk to swim in for long.  As an avid swimmer I favor their lovely beaches and fell in love with romantic Watch Hill and of course gilded Newport long ago.  Their historied charm and stunning waterfronts are just magical.  The rest of the state has been mostly a “drive through” experience for me.

I’d learned awhile ago, however, that like Long Island, Connecticut, Cape Cod and the outer islands, Rhode Island is Lyme infested and over populated by ticks.  Their level of illness has run rampant.

A heartfelt thanks to Barbara Smith, Jane Barrows, Irene Weaver and Cynthia Leonard who made my appearances work so flawlessly.

Sunday, September 9, Westport Grange, actually in neighboring MA, hosted me with a rousing crowd of 85+.  The South Shore Lyme Support Group is holding many lives together, suicidal feelings knocking on too many hearts.  This picturesque township, layered with farmland, stone walls, and ocean beach grass is tick nirvana.  We had many seriously afflicted attendees.  Cable TV taped my two hour presentation and what a wonderful time we shared, as I introduced a powerful healing intention prayer for us all.  You are wonderful souls.

Monday, September 10, Barbara whisked me off to WJAR, NBC TV, Providence, Rhode

Katina at NBC

Island.  Barbara Morse Silva, a Lyme literate health editor and weekend anchor was eager to give attention to my Lyme recovery story in “Out of the Woods,”  helping us gain more exposure with the epidemic.  Though she spent a solid 15 minutes taping with me, the spot of course was a succinct two minutes, But, WJAR and Barbara were gracious and caring.  Thank you!

12 noon.  Marriott Hotel, Rotary Club luncheon.  I was the guest speaker.  One hundred fifty rotarians listened attentively to Lyme’s destructive forces.  A great audience, and some families with tragically ill members were there. Cynthia Leonard is the go-to gal at Providence Rotary for Lyme info.  They host several Lyme awareness events annually.  That is terrific!

6 PM.  St.  Mark’s Catholic  Church, Jamestown Rhode Island.  Delightful Irene Weaver, seasoned Lyme vet Jane Barrows, and charming Father O’Neil hosted this event.  Close to 100 folks came out and guess what…a first for me-I spoke from the pulpit!

Cythia and Katina

This was a stunning moment for me to recognize how very far in my healing journey I’d traveled.  Seven years ago I was so sick, too weak to stand unassisted, emotionally, physically and spiritually decimated.  Death knocked on my door. It was a battle that summer to remain alive.  And here I was now, a completely renewed, healed and vibrant being, standing strong and proud, bright and smiling, sharing my hard earned wisdom on the pulpit of a beautiful, grand and welcoming church.  My message cannot ring out more clearly~ mending the spirit is just as essential as mending the body.

If I had not spent the solid three years doing the inner spiritual healing work, I do not believe I would have attained as complete recovery from advanced chronic Lyme disease as I have.  Standing on that pulpit at St. Mark’s I felt the recognition from divinity- “You have earned your stripes, Katina.  You are welcomed as a healing messenger, with higher knowledge.”

These words washed through me in the brief moments standing by the heavy velvet throne-like chair at the altar.  Not a regular church goer by any means, though raised as a Greek Orthodox and Quaker mix (odd I know), as a spiritual being, I know when I am being “summoned!”  Thank you God, angelic beings, spirit guides for bringing me far on this journey.  I am open, I am listening and always, always I appreciate your guidance.

The evening was ripe with emotional Q&A, as so many have suffered for so long.  Help is needed here and everywhere, as we know, for better Lyme organism diagnostics, more experienced  practitioners and resources.  Newport Lyme Support Group leader, Jane Barrows, is loaded with knowledge and contacts.  What a fantastic group at St. Mark’s-MD’s, homeopaths, psychotherapists, nurses, herbalists, patients, and caretakers we were.

Thank you Westport, Providence, Newport, and Jamestown for welcoming me and my

Katina and Lane Poor

efforts to being guidance and inspiration to your communities.  Healing from chronic Lyme is hard work, requires a long time and an integrative medical approach, as well as spiritual recovery.  I am blessed by the compassion and openness of our ever expanding Lyme disease community.  This is a wondrous opportunity I am living.

Up from the ashes, you could say.

Meanwhile, I love Rhode Island more than ever, and may your gutsy attitude about this epidemic propel the momentum to bring about some real change-like a Lyme hospital such as Inanna House!  I sense you may share the right collective forces to just make such a thing happen

With Blessings,

Katina

6 thoughts on “Rhode Island, You Rock!

  1. Thank you Katina for coming to Rhode Island and presenting your book, experience and insights into lyme disease. My husband has it and we attended Katina’s talk at St. Marks church in Jamestown. We bought the book and listened with wonder at how much we didn’t know about this disease. We are interested in joining the Newport Lyme Support Group with Jane Burrows but cannot find a link to it anywhere, including Katina’s site here. Thank you again for a wonderful knowledge to this much misdiagnosed hidden disease and thank you for more information regarding our local contacts.

  2. Hi, and thank you for comment. I sent Jane Barrows a note for the Newport Lyme Support contact info and will post it here when she replies. Sorry for any confusion, but am so happy to hear your learned so much with me in Jamestown! What a great night. My website is

    KatinaMakris.com

  3. Hello my name is Jeff im from West Warwick RI, Im actually a driver for Ripta i work out of Newport drive the trolleys etc. The reason im posting this is i believe im suffering from lyme my symptoms began last July severe fatigue migrane headachs and recently have been experiencing burning and prickling sensations throughout my body starting to get pain on my ribs and severe chills at night also suffering from insomnia my test come out negative but all signs point to lyme Its affecting my job family and destroying my life Im desperate i was hoping someone could put me in touch with a doc that would actually listen Many docs dont trat on symptoms an mine definately are becoming more severe Im afraid and desperate Seeking help my cell number is 401 477 4267 thanks and god bless to someone that could provide some sort of help.

  4. Hi Jeff.
    so sorry you are ill and yes you may have Lyme infection. The typical commercial lab will not pick it up in 60% of cases! email me directly at katina.makris@comcast.net and I will get you contact for a Lyme literate doc in your area. I know 2. Also, I will be speaking sunday Feb 24, 1:30 pm at the RI Flower Show in Providence. Please come!! to the convention center.
    We will get you help.
    best
    Katina

Leave a Reply

